PETUNIA’S

Don’t you love Petunia’s ?

I have never had a deck …. or a front porch really….just steps… and a car port.   If I planted anything out in the yard someone  would end up mowing it down.
This last fall I had to have my car port torn down because of the ever-increasing sag from an ice storm we had a few years back and I was beginning to get a little nervous parking my car under it in fear that it would collapse.  So….I made a plea for help and with in a few days…. and a few hundred dollars…. I now see open sky when I walk out my back door…. BIG difference…. Kinda like the feeling you get after Christmas and all of the decorations are put away…. Naked!

About the time I got used to it…. I came home to a blessing one night after church…. Someone…. had installed a metal car port where the old one was!!!   That was last winter and to this day I still have no idea who was my Angel!
This car port does not come all the way to the house, which at the time was something I wasn’t used to but as Spring begin to spring I could see Sunshine next to the house that I had never in all of the years I have lived her have EVER seen!

So …. as I would make my trips to Wal-Mart, or drive past the Nursery’s, or look through sale adds, I would begin to see all of the out-door furniture sets…. the Beautiful Flower pots and Patio entertaining paraphernalia…… It once again set in that desire to have what, apparently only  in my mind, EVERYONE but me had!   SOMEDAY….. when I move out of this house… I am going to have a patio or deck that I can put pots of flowers…. a couple of Chairs…. and a little table between them to place my Coffee or Tea on while I soak up the summer sun!
AND THEN……

I saw it….!
That sad, empty spot between the house and the car port …. just the right size for …… 2 chairs and a table…..and a flower-pot of…… Petunia’s!!!

My son …. age 17, was …… ummmmmmm….. Thrilled…..to cart the two chairs out to the car for me….and he informed me …. HE…. would never be sitting in them…. I told him that was ok… I still wanted TWO chairs, and he didn’t have to carry everything…I would carry the table …. and then…..On a whim….I grabbed up a pretty purple pot of Petunia’s ( say that 5 tines in a row and see if it doesn’t put a smile on your face)….on the way to the check out stand…. Something I always have wanted to do!

We arrive home…. and before even putting up the groceries….I got my chairs…. table….and my pot of purple Petunia’s out of the jeep…. and begin to set up my “Patio”!    Awwwwwe….. I am happy now!   For someone who lives for sunlight!!!   This is JUST what I needed.

I go on with my “life”…. housework… work…. church…. mommy…grandma…. and after a few days I noticed…. my poor pot of purple Petunia’s are well….. not very “Perky”!    OHHH NO!
I noticed the little white tag still in the soil of the Petunia so NOW… I began to read how to take care of my now less than perky poor pot of purple Petunia’s!

As I read I noticed the words…..”Water Daily”…. oh yeah… plants need water….. so…. I got my handy-dandy little watering can and gave my little plant a nice healthy drink of cool water… and what do you know…… the next morning…. I once again had a perky pot of purple Petunia’s!!!

As I prepped for a lesson I was to lead in a Women’s Bible Study Class on the Fruit of the Spirit…. I read a line from the book that said….”If you’ve not been bearing the fruit of the Spirit in your life the way you’d like, ask God to help you plant good seeds and pull up any weeds that may have grown up around your soul.  Feed the soil of your heart with the food of God’s Word and ask the Holy Spirit to water it afresh very day”…..Immediately I thought about my now…. perky pot of purple Petunia’s sitting outside on my little table next to my two chairs that is now my patio!

I decided to Google Petunia’s and see what Wikipedia had to say about Cultivating this multicolored breed of flower….
This is what I learned.

Cultivation

Petunia seeds germinate in 5 to 15 days.
Petunias can tolerate relatively harsh conditions and hot climates.
They need at least five hours of sunlight every day.
They grow well in low humidity, moist soil.
In drier regions, the plants should be watered daily.
Dead petals should be pruned so that the younger branches can flourish.
Maximum growth occurs in late spring.
Applying fertilizers once a month will help the plant grow quickly.
Petunias can be cultivated in hanging baskets.

Pretty easy little plant to take care of…… then… the lesson.
We…like Petunia’s…need to Plant those seeds in our lives in order to grow….ANYTHING…. most do not germinate in 5 – 15 Days… but they WILL Germinate someday…
We…like Petunia’s…can tolerate relatively harsh Condition….
We…like Petunia’s…need at least 5 hours of  SONlight every day!
We…like Petunia’s…grow well in Moist Soil.
We…like Petunia’s…Should be watered daily!
We…like Petunia’s…should be pruned, removing the dead… and sometimes live “petals” so that younger “better” branches will flourish.

We…like Petunia’s……
Are beautiful…..colorful… strong….hardy…
but….
Like a Petunia… we will wilt and eventually die if we are not in the SON….. and Watered with the Word Of God….DAILY!
OHHHH we may get by for a few days surviving on the good watering we received on Sunday that left the soil of our hearts and Spirit moist… but… with out another drink of that Life giving Water between Sundays….well….

We…like our less than perky poor pot of purple Petunia’s…will be a

Less than caring, calloused, cranky, crop of crimson colored Christians.

One thought on “PETUNIA’S

Leave a Reply

