Perspective…..


Several years ago I found myself in a rough spot in my life, as many of us do.    It seemed like EVERYTIME I tried to move forward,  something always  seemed to shove, not hold…. but shove  me back….you know…..the old….. one step forward and two steps back kinda thing.!!!        The more I thought on those things …..the more down in my spirit I seemed to get.    

As I was driving to church one sunny Sunday morning, trying to “get happy” but feeling the heaviness of my situations,  I crossed the bridge over Stockton Lake near our church.
My eyes were drawn to how beautiful the Lake shimmered with the sun dancing on the ripple s of the water… Like diamonds in the light.      I was truly in awe…for awhile, I forgot about my struggles as I watched the dancing lights on the waters surface.

and then…

As i continued to cross the bridge… something changed… the water become dull and plain again.    I could feel my smile turn into a frown…. My spirit fade…my whole demeanor….. fall limp.    In just a short distance of space and time, the shimmers were gone and it took with it the tranquil feelings I had……the beauty was now simply ordinary …..and dull.
God said to me… Nothing really changed.    You are still in the same car…… you are still on the same bridge…. still looking at the same water… the same sun….but…Your “perspective” changed… not the situation.    YOU moved ……..the sun  did not.

WOW!

HOW we view our situation, makes a huge difference in seeing the beauty…… or the plain and ordinary.     The good or the bad…. the hard or the easy in every situation we have.     I think sometimes I just need to stop…. and back up to the spot where I lost my perspective… where my view had a shimmering outlook…..where I could see the sun (SON)  shining on my situation.  He hasn’t moved!   He is still shining on me and my situation.    The only thing that has changed was my view… my outlook.      It really is all about how we look at it!  He has not left us.  He will NOT leave us!

Hebrews 13:5  AMP

………… for He [God] Himself has said, I will not in any way fail you nor give you up nor leave you without support. [I will] not, [I will] not, [I will] not in any degree leave you helpless nor forsake nor let [you] down (relax My hold on you)! [Assuredly not!]

The SON is always shining on us… we just may need to move to a different spot to get the right….. PERSPECTIVE!

One thought on “Perspective…..

  1. Very good, it is a forest for the trees thing. Our vision becomes narrowed with hurt, sorrow, and depression. He will give us the full view if we allow ourselves to broaden our “perspective”. I say move toward the “Light” and the darkness will eventually be left behind.

Leave a Reply

