Beautiful Things……..!

It really is no secret to those who have known me for a long time or even for a short period of time, that I am no fan of winter at all…. oh heck… I just might as well tell it like it is… I HATE WINTER!!!
I mean .. if it was 75 degrees all the time, then winter would be ok  in my book, but then again that wouldn’t be “winter” then would it?       At least not in Missouri.      I believe I would actually even like snow…. if it was 75 degrees ;~)

Plus….. it’s not just the cold temperatures that I hate…… it is also all of those long nights and short days… which makes my mood a little… a bit…. somewhat…OK… a whole lot blahhhhhh…..I NEED that sunshine!!!       Yes… I finally broke down and bought one of those “sunshine” lights and it does help me through January and February a bit better….. but…. it is still so dark when I get off work …. which is not a good thing for someone who needs the light to keep moving instead of wanting to just crawl in bed.   ( I so would have made a good chicken… up with the sun… down with the sun )

Plus…… when you look outside, the scenery is just all…. Khaki….everything looks so dead…. the trees are bare… the grass is brown… nothing is growing and it just is a very bland canvas.      It’s kind of like watching a movie on a black and white TV after you have known what a color TV looks like.     Oh…..Its OK for one movie…maybe two…. or three even…. but if I had to watch black and white all of the time…. oh my….!

So,  this morning… I am driving to work… listening to the radio and just zoning in on the drive, when the announcers were talking to a lady about how beautiful she is… that God doesn’t ever make mistakes and those quirks in us are even
beautiful to Him… His design….then they began to play the song “Beautiful Things” by Gungor….

I just listened like usual… not really hearing the words but singing along with them anyway…. when all of a sudden…..out of the corner of my eye….or just an awakened sense of what I was driving past…..I saw sparkles……lots and lots of glitter and sparkles…….the sparkle of the frozen dew….like a million little prisms….. gleaming in the sunshine……. Beautiful!

I then noticed that the sparkles ….. were sitting on top of the grass…. that SAME dead….. brown, grass that looked so drab yesterday in its plain khaki color was now …..Beautiful ….covered with the cold frozen dew that now laid on top of it so peacefully…. The sun had turned all the things that I hated yesterday on their own…. the drab…the dead…. the khaki….. the cold… the frost….into an AWE moment…!!!!

Along with the Words of the song…..the words of the DJ to the woman on the radio…. and the exact moment I got that vision…God spoke to me and said…
YOU are beautiful…
When MY SON shines on anything…. or anyone….
that, what seems to be cold….dead…. drab… and ugly….
now….. sparkles and gleams…. and becomes….Beautiful!!

God …. Doesn’t make ANYTHING…. or ANYONE…..less than Beautiful….

Whether it is your appearance…. your life… your finances… your relationships…your job… what ever is looking ….. khaki colored…. stand back and take another look….See that…. the SON is shining….

Oh wait… I see it…… I see……SPARKLES…!!!

Leave a Reply

