We Need Refreshed

I love the sun!   Not in an unhealthy, weird, worship it as God kind of thing….. I just love the sun!   The warmth it brings, since I am a freeze baby, makes me feel like getting up and moving instead of sitting with a blanket over me.   The Vitamin D it provides me, since apparently I have that condition that gets me down when we don’t have enough of it on those long….. long….. long winter days!   I love the way it feels on my face!   The way it opens my eyes in the mornings bidding me to get out of bed and start the day off!   How it is bright and although it can hurt my eyes… I love placing a pair of sunglasses on my eyes to dim it just a bit… only to look even more directly at it to feel its warmth.

I just love the sun!

This summer….. we have had a LOT of sunshine!!!    I am not quite sure how many days of 100 Degrees and above we have had so far this year but a few days ago it was 13 and the looks of the 10 day forecast looks like most, if not all of them will have 100 Degree Temperatures as well.   I did notice however that one day this week we do have a chance of rain!!!  Hope rises for everyone when we see those numbers go up from a 10% chance a few days ago to a 50% chance of precipitation !!!

Now as much as I like the sun…. I was reminded on my drive to work this morning that even that sun …. that life-giving sun…. that beautiful light of warmth in the sky…. that very same sun can become harsh and cruel if not tempered by a cooling rain now and then.

I work inside an air-conditioned office…. drive an air-conditioned car…. and have air condition on at my house.   I am not directly affected by the direct heat of the sun on a daily basis… on an hourly basis ….. like those who have to be outside during those peak temperature spikes…. whether it is a construction worker…. farmer….service men….utility worker…. or those who are firefighters…… policemen, or any other occupation that requires them to be outside in the elements.    My love of the sun… can still be fostered because I can enjoy it from the inside looking out… or for those brief moments I spend walking from building to vehicle.

Those outside…. however…. may not share my love for the sun.   They may begin to despise the sun.  They may even see it as their enemy…. something that is out to get them.  It seems to drain every bit of energy  they have right out of them.   They will do all they can to hide from its powerful rays that seem to penetrate through any, and every attempt to just cool off and escape from its glare.

Too many days in the 100 Degree temperatures without a few refreshing days of a cool summer rain, has made even those who love their work outside in the sun….begin to look at it as a cruel task master.

Then…. I thought about how many people see God as that same Hot…. relentless summer sun.   All they feel from Him is the scorching heat He gives.   They try to run from Him…. hide from Him and the penetrating rays of conviction He emits.   They see Him as that harsh task master that seems to want to drain every bit of energy from their beings….. making them bow down from the heat begging for relief.

Of course… that is how they feel… because… They have not experienced that God…. tempered…. with the cool refreshing flow of the Blood of Jesus!   Without the Blood of Jesus…. we would all be feeling the scorching effects of Gods wrath….but… since Jesus shed His blood… we now can look at God as not a threat… or a harsh task master… but as a loving father…. shining on us to give us comfort…. give us healing….give us light….direction…. to warm our hearts and our spirits.   We can enjoy ….not despise…. the heat He gives because of the refreshing blood His SON so willingly and freely poured out on us!

Leave a Reply

