W-A-I-T-I-N-G………………………………

Sometimes…….well actually, more times than I could probably count on both, my hands and feet, as well as yours….I have been talking to someone about something very casual and seemingly unimportant … or… ministering to them about a very real struggle in their life…… when out of my mouth comes the exact words that Ineeded to hear concerning something I was going through at that exact time!
God is pretty sneaky that way!
I have often wondered if it was as noticeable on my face, as it was in my spirit, when that revelation happened.   It is like a great big **** DUH**** slaps me across the head as those words  flow effortlessly in what seems like  slow motion  across my lips!

This Morning was one of those times.   I was sitting at my computer checking email on one screen and scrolling through Facebook on another, when up pops a Personal Message box.  The message said:

Morning to ya, I sure do wish you would let it rain already, lol. Man it is a test of all farmers right now. I wonder what the Lord has in store???? I know He is up to something BIG!”

So….. I began to write a reply….. I typed:
I have put my order in ….. just have to wait… like a fine restaurant vs fast food…. takes longer… but it is soooo much more satisfying

SMACK!!!!

Ok God…. I hear You loud and clear!  Even though I wasn’t looking to be ….or….expecting to hear anything Spiritual out of that very general statement concerning rain…..I sure got the message loud and clear.
I typed in slow motion…..
I have put my order in“……. (nope… you’re not done…. when you place an order…. what do you usually have to do?       WAIT)
“just have to wait“………(there is more…. don’t send it….How do you like to wait?   I don’t…..even in the drive through I don’t like to wait very long….. but…..)
like a fine restaurant vs fast food“…….(Yes? ……oh no….. here it comes….. the “****DUH**** moment!)
takes longer… but it is soooo much more satisfying“………(now….. you can send it!)

Yep….. there it is…. in black and white…. written….. not spoken… so I can reread it as many times as needed in order to let it truly soak in.   Since they are “my” words…. I cannot read anything in between the lines… or say it was a misprint…. or reason it away like I could if it was said by anyone else…. nope…. Crystal Clear and ringing Loud and Clear in my inner ears are the words I need to be reminded of!

like a fine restaurant vs fast food…. takes longer… but it is soooo much more satisfying

Sometimes….. a fast food hamburger is all I need.  Time restraints…. like a lunch break for work during the week….. gives me  instant satisfaction and fills the need I have at the moment.

But…..Going into a nice restaurant…. One that has real tablecloths on the table……One that has ambiance……you will find that you are going to have to:

“WAIT” to be seated ….
“WAIT” to get a waitress…
“WAIT” to order…..
“WAIT” to get your food…..
“WAIT” to get the check……and
“WAIT” to pay the check…..

Why do we think it is ok to “WAIT” at a fine restaurant and not in the drive through line at McDonalds????
I think it is that we have placed a higher standard and expectation on the dine-in restaurant.    We know that we are  going to pay a higher price for the quality of the food and the service so we are more than happy to sacrifice that time, as well as the money, on those occasional splurges we have to treat our friends, family or ourselves.
We also find that our “Waiting” is hardly found to be an inconvenience.   Conversations move from subject to subject as we fill the spaces between the time we arrive till the time we leave.
Relationships are deepened……  Families grow stronger…….  Stress is relinquished…… We actually leave the restaurant with not only our basic need of daily nourishment being taken care of…… but, we received much more satisfaction than when we first walked in,  or if we had just grabbed a hamburger and fries through the drive through……. all because we had to “WAIT”!!

When we pray for things we either need…. or want…. what kind of answer do we want?
Some…. honestly, will not take much time…. like a drive through window we will find the answer pretty quick, and it will meet the need we have at the time.  Quick and to the point.
Others…. however…. are more intense…time worthy…..
We find that we have to “WAIT”…….. and “WAIT”……….and “WAIT”………!
While I “WAIT” however…. that time spent is not wasted!
My Relationship with God ……. deepens!
My Faith grows…… Stronger
My ways….. relinquished.

When the answer does come….. I will find that it will leave me more satisfied than if I would have gotten it before its time.
James 1:4(amp) says……But let endurance and steadfastness and patience have full play and do a thorough work, so that you may be people perfectly and fully developed with no defects, lacking in nothing!!!!

That is what God spoke to me this morning in the middle of my Personal Message about rain!

Sooooo……..
Yes Lord….. I am willing to “WAIT” for the Best of the Best …. the Real Tablecloths……the perfect answer to my prayer that you have planed for me!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

