Inconveniences or Interventions?

Basketball is now in full swing now that school is back from the Christmas break and with it being the last year I will have a High School student playing I hate to miss any of them.   I also know that those bleachers seem to get a bit more uncomfortable by each passing year I sit on them, so….. after getting to the gym too early and having to sit through 1 or 2 extra games before my son plays the last one…. I decided the other day that I would have plenty of time to drive out to the other end of town to a herb shop and still make it to the game in plenty of time.

Although Joplin MO is not a huge city… 5:00 traffic can start to get congested and it took me about 20 minutes to get to my destination and after finding what I came for I decided I sure didn’t want to try Main Street or Rangeline to go home so found the back road and cut through town.  I had not been down that part of town for quite a while and parts were still pretty barren from the Tornado that went through almost 2 years ago and it seemed to be hard to get my barrings on where exactly I was…( oh… sounds good to have something else to blame it on other than my lousy sense of direction … doesn’t it ?)

Finally…. 7th Street… I know where I am!
I turn onto 7th and begin to think that I should stop in somewhere and get something to eat so I wont be so hungry after the game and therefore blow the diet I began a week before.  There is a Sonic right outside of town that I usually stop at but notice the one on 7th that has a drive through… for some reason that drive through intrigued me even though I always hate that people use it when ordering more than a drink… but I had a brain freeze I guess and so I turned around and made my way to the Menu and speaker to place my order.

As I mentioned… I am on my diet plan and therefore Carbs are off-limits.  So I order my 44 ounce drink and a #1  Hamburger… no bun… and no cheese.   The Sonic at Stones Corner are used to my strange order but this Sonic seemed to be thrown off by my order and she asked me several times to repeat the order… Questions like….No bun?  ……. No Cheese?…… Do you want the vegetables?  …… would you like Mustard, Ketchup or Mayo?… ok your order comes to 5.39 please drive forward.

I drive forward and sit behind the car in front of me and begin to calculate my timing on how I am running to get to the game on time.  Although I knew I had plenty of time, I begin to think of the possibility that the game before Colin’s game ran way early, and I may miss the tip-off began to creep into my mind, but I reassured myself that there was no way that was going to happen and pulled up to the window to retrieve my order.

The little lady opened up the window and  asked me…. “Now… what did you order?”  I said…. “I had the naked hamburger” so I didn’t have to go through the whole order again,  figuring she should be able to recognize it on the screen.   She shut the window so she could look for the order then after a few moments opened the window and said…. “we have lost your order…. it just disappeared off of our screen….. that has never happened before!”   She then informed me that she would have to take my order again and re-ring it up….
so…… once again…I told her that I would like a #1 hamburger…. no bun….no cheese….yes I wanted the vegetables…. and Mustard….!
“Did you have a drink with that?”    “Yes…. a 44oz Coke Zero with Cherry and Vanilla.”

She closes her window and I hear her holler back to the kitchen my order and after several minutes….. holding up the drive through….. I get my order and proceed on my way.  Well… that was weird I thought.   Good thing I had settled in my mind that I would still have plenty of time to get to the gym to see the tip-off or I might have really been upset.

After about and extra 5 minute delay I maneuver through the after work traffic…. I remember looking at my clock on the car as I passed the place I work and notice that it is 10 till six and Heidi is still with our last patient of the day…..
Wow…. Julie must have been running late tonight…..I thought….
Finally…. I make it out of town and on my way for the 30 minute drive to the game.

About 5 miles out of town I came up to the new Round-about they put in around October at the intersection of 43 and 96 in hopes to cut down on the many traffic accidents that have happened there over the years.   As I manipulate through it, I noticed a car that was sitting inside one of the curbings…..I also notice a lady sitting inside the little red car….. people standing behind it….. the front of the car smashed in…. steam from the fluids still spewing from the front of the car….. a vehicle on the East and also one on the West of the road… and no emergency vehicles have arrived yet….
Should I stop?
Should I call 911?
Will I be in the way?
I decided they had enough help and that I should go on.

My mind began to run a course of events and thoughts…
“So much for a safer intersection”….
“Oh My Gosh….That wreck must have JUST happened …. surely it had been no longer than about 5 minutes ago because there was not even a first responder there…. steam still coming off the engine…good thing it isn’t real cold tonight…. I should text my friend Heidi who would pass through here very shortly that she should take a detour, because the emergency vehicles would no doubt have that intersection blocked by the time she gets there.

I was well past the intersection when it dawned on me….
When have you ever heard of an order….. vanishing off of a screen at a fast food restaurant?  Why did that happen?  Why tonight…?   That little order miss-hap set me back …. what?….. about 5 minutes?
What if I had not been detained?
I would have been IN the round-about at the time that accident happened!

I checked the accident report the next day….
The wreck happened at 5:50!!!!

Grateful?
EXTREMELY!!!

He Truly watches over us!
The next day God gave me this Scripture….

You who love the Lord , hate evil!
He protects the lives of his godly people and rescues them from the power of the wicked.   Psalm 97:10 NLT

We have always been told that our God has a plan and purpose for each and everyone of us.
It is always a great thing to actually get to see the hand of God move in and on our lives!!!

Thank you Lord for Inconveniencing me!

One thought on “Inconveniences or Interventions?

  1. That’s awesome, Teresa! I learned a long time ago to slow down and realize that, while I’ve got a Plan A going, God sometimes (actually a lot of times) has a Plan B going, and His Plan B is always better than my Plan A, and more than once I believe His Plan B has saved me a lot of trouble…maybe even my life! Thank God for His loving hand of protection! God bless you, Girlfriend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

