Open Up Those Curtains

curtains[1]

Winter seems to drag for me…
I am NOT a fan… (nor a follower)!
It looks like we are on the down swing of the 2013-2014 season and I can not be more excited…
Energy level just seems to sky rocket when the temperatures rise above the 50 mark in February!!!   I think we actually saw 64 yesterday morning before the winter bad man decided to blow
on us some high winds to cool things back down again.
But the morning rolls around and I can see the Sun… the wind is milder… the temperature is already at 44 degrees at 10 AM with a promise to reach 60 once again today!

I have Fridays off so this is really making things much…. much… much better….

UNTIL!!
Let me start here…..I am a pet lover… started out with one Chihuahua in 2006 as a gift to my son… Peanut is a “Taco-Bell” type Chihuahua and therefore … short haired… (still sheds)

3 years later… a lady came into the Pharmacy that I was working at pleading for someone to take her kitten because her older Siamese cat didn’t like her and she was afraid of him hurting her..Of course she is sweet…fixed… and declawed…
I picked up kitty litter and box on the way home from work that day.

3 years ago… I answered a plea on a multi-text message (with picture included…. sad eyes and all) to 19 recipients asking for someone to take this precious Long Haired Chihuahua because the family just couldn’t  take care of her anymore.   Noticing that 19 people were on this message… I responded ..something to the effect of…..”awwweeee….well… if no one else takes her…. let me know”….
Needless to say… NO ONE else wanted her and the text came… almost immediately….”When can I bring her over ?”

Two years later … I am in love with my little Long Haired Chihuahua… Dixie…. as well as the Short Haired Chihuahua … Peanut…and my Cat….Pepper!

Last year….. Colin… my now 19 year old made a trip to the Pet Store with someone just to go along for the ride…. when… all of a sudden…. there…. out of no where (added for dramatics) was this cute little Sheba Inu Puppy!!  Just like the one he has always wanted since playing that virtual pet game years ago on his gameboy!!!

Enter my life now…. I am in love with my Short Haired Chihuahua….. Peanut…. My Cat …. Pepper…. My Long Haired Chihuahua …. Dixie…. and Colin’s Short Haired…. (but 3 times bigger)  …. Sheba Inu…. Bella!

Remember…. this beautiful day I was talking about a bit ago?  Yes… so beautiful that I have even opened up all of the curtains.    And now the Sun… that beautiful Sun that I have been missing for such a long time it seems….is now shining in through my windows!   I now take it all in… soaking in it for minutes on end….breathing deeply as if to breathe in the rays of sunshine.     Oh ….  Thank You God for that Sunshine!!!
Then …  with my “fix” of sunshine running deeply thru me….I turn around to face my home that has been in the dark for several months it seems and …. OMGosh!!!!

NOW I can see dust…. that seems to have been there for what looks like ages!!!!    Seriously???   Has it been that long since I have dusted????
I now also can see…. very clearly that my hard wood floors seem to be trying to “evolve” into a carpeted floor!   Oh …. wait… I am a Christian… I don’t believe in evolution!!!!    So I look closer and see that in reality… my loving pets…. have left part of themselves through out my entire house!!!    Revealed completely and painfully because of that sun!!!   Now what seemed to be acceptable just a few minutes ago… is now… totally UN acceptable and I now have 2 choices……
1) Get out the Vacuum… dust rag… mop… and get to work cleaning… Or
2) Close the curtains and live in the dark .. pretending everything is in order and clean.

I guess I will be spending much of my day off…. cleaning up that revealed mess in my house…
Isn’t it funny how you can live in conditions that you are really unaware of how it really is until that Sun exposes what the darkness had hidden.

Oh wait…. Lesson time….
How many of us are living in the dark…. thinking we are “ok”… thinking that we have everything under control…. that no one… not even us…can see the condition … the true condition of our heart??
As long as we keep the curtain closed around our heart …. keeping the “SONlight” out… we really don’t have to deal with all that mess.    It’s all ok… I… am OK… I feel good about myself.
Look how neat and tidy my life is…. my CHRISTian life…. is spotless.. no worries… no big complaints…. no conviction…no changes necessary!  Keep those curtains closed and you may be able to convince yourself of that for a mighty long time.

I am grateful for the Sun…. I am even more grateful for THE SON!
Both bring warmth… hope… life… to me!
I cant live without either one!
Without them my life is dark… dreary… depressing… !

2 Choices…. Yes… I have a choice….
I think I will leave those curtains open…Letting that beautiful sunshine in..

Ephesians 5:8
For once you were full of darkness, but now you have light from the Lord. So live as people of light!  9For this light within you produces only what is good and right and true.  10Carefully determine what pleases the Lord. 11Take no part in the worthless deeds of evil and darkness; instead, expose them. 12It is shameful even to talk about the things that ungodly people do in secret. 13But their evil intentions will be exposed when the light shines on them, 14for the light makes everything visible. This is why it is said,

“Awake, O sleeper,
rise up from the dead,
and Christ will give you light.”
Leave a Reply

