God’s Analogy to Me about Death

Condemned[1]Death is a hard thing sometimes to wrap  our heads around …. whether we are a Believer or non-believer…. we always have questions.

Non believers will play the blame game to try to cope with the unknown or the unfairness of it all.  They will blame themselves….blame others…… And of course… Blame God!!

If the blame game does not fit in there scenario… They will justify a death ….if it is a young child they may say things like… God needed a flower in his garden….or God has another angel in heaven!

With believers it is sometimes a different story….we will struggle with our faith and our belief system….. wondering why our prayers were not answered in the way we prayed.

Does God not care?   Did God not hear my prayer?    Was my faith not strong enough?   Was there Sin un-addressed ?  Questions upon questions that just does’t seem to have the right answers that will satisfy our longing to know the truth.

Several years ago… I begin going to a Spirit filled Bible study.   I learned so many new things about the power of God…The Spirit of God… The Holy Spirit… The Will of God…..And I was Baptized in the Holy Spirit with the evidence of speaking in tongues!

One of the things that was opened up to me through the Word of God in that Bible Study,  was the fact that sickness was not from God…. nor was it His will for His people.    That was something that I began to hang on to!  I heard story after story of miracles that had happened and that began to build my faith up in the power of God!

Our Bible study teacher came in one day….and after many months of praying for her own mother …. And even after taking her to a few healing services…. she told us that her mother passed away.  Being so new in my faith…this began to really try to shake my faith!   How could a woman of such powerful faith not even be able to keep her own mother from dying?!?

I began to ask God to Show me and help me to understand how this could happen!   I knew it wasn’t God’s will for her to die ….but if she died anyway ….how could that happen?

God… Gave me an analogy that has helped me ….and others …and I hope that it might help you as well..

He began by giving me a picture of my home.   He said ….you know your home needs to be taken care of… You need to make sure you patch holes in screens ….in framework.  You paint …you seal …,and you spray periodically for rodents and pests.  You do the best you can to keep it in good shape.

But…Once in a while…we may get a pest….a fly inside ….and all though it is a nuisance ….we can get rid of it with a little determination, patience and sometimes some skill.

Other times however, we may find ourselves with something a little more destructive…. like termites.   If we find out soon enough that we have a problem with termites…it is usually a fairly easy fix… But… If we are unaware for some time that we have had the problem …it is more than likely they can ..and have ….spread throughout the house and have done some major damage to much of the foundation and supports of our home.

After some evaluation we may be given a few scenarios on how to address the problem..  More than likely we are going to find out that in order to salvage our home…. it is going to take a lot of time …..a lot of patience …a lot of diligence…. and… a lot of money to replace and restore all of that which the termites had gotten in to.  It can be fixed… It’s just going to take tenacity to keep at it!!

Sometimes… It just makes more sense and easier to condemn the house ….and move on to a new one.

Then he said now look at your physical body.

You need to take care of your body… Eat right… exercise ….take vitamins and supplements.   You do the best you can to keep it in good shape.   Once in a while even… We may get a “pest”….something like catching a cold.    Although it is a nuisance ….we can still get rid of it with a little time and patience.

Sometimes… However… We may end up with something more destructive….like a cancer.    If caught soon enough ….with a little treatment ….determination ….and time ….it can be taken care of and we can be healed completely.  Other times… By the time it is found … it has done some major problems by spreading throughout our system.   It is going to now take a lot of time… A lot of money… A lot of patients…a lot of determination…..in order to get through this.   It CAN be fixed… Healed… It’s just going to take a lot of determination… A lot of tenacity… A lot of perseverance… To hang in there and see it through.

Sometimes… However… we get tired of fighting.   It just seems easier…. more beneficial…. to condemn this house… This body… And move on to a better …new body …the one that is waiting for us in heavenly places.

Death…to a Believer… Is not defeat!

Death… to a Believer…is simply moving on to a bigger … better…. newer place!!

Although…. its still not easy to lose anyone on this side of Heaven….It has given me a lot of peace…. knowing…. that it has nothing to do with whether my faith is or isn’t strong enough… their faith was or wasn’t strong enough…or whether someone “missed the mark” somewhere.   They ….WE….are the only one fighting the inside battle…. and They….WE… are the only one who is able to make the call on either fighting the battle… or condemning the old house… to move on to our mansion in the sky!

 Philippians 1:20   For I fully expect and hope that I will never be ashamed, but that I will continue to be bold for Christ, as I have been in the past. And I trust that my life will bring honor to Christ, whether I live or die. 21 For to me, living means living for Christ, and dying is even better. 22 But if I live, I can do more fruitful work for Christ. So I really don’t know which is better. 23 I’m torn between two desires: I long to go and be with Christ, which would be far better for me.24 But for your sakes, it is better that I continue to live. 25 Knowing this, I am convinced that I will remain alive so I can continue to help all of you grow and experience the joy of your faith. 26 And when I come to you again, you will have even more reason to take pride in Christ Jesus because of what he is doing through me.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “God’s Analogy to Me about Death

  1. I wasn’t very excited about Bill’s ‘revelation’ when he told he that he’d come to the realization that death was the ultimate healing. However, the more I thought about it the more it seemed that surely he was right…as usual. Someplace along the way, I’ve lost my fear of death. Why would I fear the place that Jesus has prepared for me. Why would I fear a ‘forever’ with the one who loved me more than anyone else ever has. I know He does because no one else ever willingly died on a cross that I might have this eternal home. My grandparents loved me…but not that much. My parents loved me..but not that much. Bill loved me…but not that much. I love my children…but not that much. Could it be those times I fear it’s because of sin in my life. Because I don’t want to face Him. How thankful I am that when I confess my sin, He forgives. It is blotted out. Thus, I then have no reason to fear. Soon….very soon.

Leave a Reply

