A Morning In Psalms

6763-psalm_27.630w.tn[1]This morning……I sat in my chair to begin to have some time with God…. I asked God how He wanted “me” to Worship Him…. How He wanted “me” to get to know Him better… How “we” could grow “our” relationship with each other… NOT … the way my Pastor does…. NOT the way my best friend does…. NOT the way the Sunday School teacher does…. but… How should “we” spend our time together?  Trying to Worship or relate to God I believe is unique….our own special way… like the relationship we each have with our earthly Parents….each child has different personalities and so they relate differently…. but…still the same Love is portrayed to the Parent.  So…..what is MY special connection maker?

I felt like He wanted me to go Psalms 27 in my Bible…

The Lord is my Light and my Salvation—whom shall I fear or dread? The Lord is the Refuge and Stronghold of my life—of whom shall I be afraid?  When the wicked, even my enemies and my foes, came upon me to eat up my flesh, they stumbled and fell.  Though a host encamp against me, my heart shall not fear; though war arise against me, [even then] in this will I be confident.

Those first few Scriptures were awesome…. reminding me that even though there is wickedness around us and we have enemies….we don’t need to be afraid… God is our Strength… our Shelter!   He then nudged me to look at the heading of the chapter in my Bible… It read…..(A Psalm of David).   David… the SAME David who killed Lions in the field that attacked the sheep he watched…. the SAME David who also slew Goliath, the giant…. with a ROCK and a SLING SHOT!!!  He had so much Confidence in the Lord…. NOTHING did he fear.  I made a mental note to self to remember this in the coming months as the world seems to grow darker!

As I read further….Verse 8 says…..You have said, Seek My face [inquire for and require My presence as your vital need]. My heart says to You, Your face (Your presence), Lord, will I seek, inquire for, and require [of necessity and on the authority of Your Word].

There it is!    Yes Lord….. THAT is exactly what I want …. This is what I meant when I asked you the question of how I can Worship you this morning.   I want your Presence.    I truly want to see your face!   I want to know you so much deeper.  To have fellowship…. communion…. communication.   Lord, I am not looking for your hands.  I am not looking for a handout…. that “Magic Jeannie” some people seek…. but YOU Lord… all of YOU!  I seek your face….. and I seek your arms….arms …..to hold me, and your face…. to know You!

Then…. the picture of the cross went through my mind.
I honestly don’t know if there is any other meaning or reasoning to the crucifixion besides being extremely cruel and disgraceful… but as I was thinking about it… God reminded me of the nails… and where they were placed….Hands/wrists… and on the feet.

Hands… (wrists)…. Hands are for touching…. for giving…. for receiving.
Feet…. Feet are for going….. mobility.

In a message… deliberate or not…. the crucifixion was also saying… You will NOT give to anyone any more… You WILL NOT  touch the people to make them well… to show them your Love….to feed them….and  You will NOT go to them… spreading your Love from place to place….giving them the message of forgiveness and Salvation….. of Hope.

Well…. I never looked at that quite like that before…Satan thought… the Hands of God…. were all we were after…All we wanted from Jesus!   He thought by crucifying Him… we would no longer seek Him if He could not “give” to us…. or He could not “go” to us.   After all, how could anyone just want to Love someone because of who they are… not what they can do for or give to us!  If Jesus can’t “go” to us surely no one would “go” to  Jesus.

Little did he know … that THAT crucifixion was the ultimate Gift to His people…. His Life… shed on that horrible cross is what gave us all the rights to become children of God… to gain Salvation with an everlasting home in Heaven… to gain rights to our healing… and the Power of Holy Spirit to overcome the things of this world.  The ultimate …. Giving!
( 1 Corinthians 2:8 None of the rulers of this age or world perceived and recognized andunderstood this, for if they had, they would never have crucified the Lord of glory.)

The last 2 verses of that chapter has been highlighted in my Bible for many years!
Psalm 27:13-14  [What, what would have become of me] had I not believed that I would see the Lord’s goodness in the land of the living!  

I don’t even want to try to imagine what would have become of me…. If I had not had my belief in the Lord!
He was all I had many times in my life to hold on to.  I kept on believing that I would see His goodness come through for me!  AND…. HE always did!

THEN….the verse that should be our daily reminder….
Wait and hope for and expect the Lord; be brave and of good courage and let your heart be stout and enduring. Yes, wait for and hope for and expect the Lord.

We have heard of those 3 step plans to get out of debt… or recovery from an addiction… or to get this or that…
well…. God has His own here….
3 steps….3 simple… and yet sometimes the hardest steps …..to seeing the Goodness of God…. HERE … in the land of the living.
3 steps…. he thought were important enough to repeat…. in the same verse.
3 steps…in combination…. not on their own.
Wait……
AND hope…..
AND Expect…..

THE LORD!

 

Leave a Reply

