What’s In A Name?

Shakespeare[1]

 

When I was born I was given the last name of my Father.
Farmer.
That was my name for about 19 years until I got married.  Then.. it changed…. to  Lair.
That name is what I went by until I was around 27…. divorced and then married to my second husband, which changed my last name again…. now … to McNaught.

This is the name that is currently on all my mail.  My paychecks.  It is how I sign anything … legal or non.

Although my last name has changed over the years….. my first name….. Teresa…. has not.

I have been Teresa for 52 years.    As far as I know…. I will always have the name Teresa.
“I” have not changed.
Oh… yes… I have gotten taller… and well…. wider….over the years, as well as smarter… or should I say…. wiser.  My likes and dislikes…. have changed over the years.  I have different views on things I thought were unchangeable in my youth…..and my standards …. have changed…. hopefully for the better.   Priorities….. have most definitely changed.   My Style…. has changed…. and yes…. My hair color changes frequently!

But…..
The person of Teresa…. is still ….. Teresa!

As a child…. I went to the little church in my back yard.   It was a Methodist Church.
When I was older I was saved and Baptized in the Christian Church.    I became a member.
Years later…. I became a member of a non-denominational church.
Now…. I am a member of a different Methodist Church than the one I grew up in.

Although…. the churches where I have been a member has changed over the years….. born again name… CHRISTian…. has not!
I have been a CHRISTian for over 23 years.   Being a CHRISTian …. has never changed.
Oh…. yes… I have grown stronger in my Faith over the years.   I have gained more knowledge about the Word of God.   I have had to put away some wrong thinking and accept some truths
I had not seen before.   My patience…. is growing…. my fears…. diminishing…..my love increasing…. my joy overflowing…. my peace…. oh that sweet peace…. is always what I crave.
Yes….
Memberships…. like last names…. change.

I am reminded of a line from William Shakespeare’s  …. Romeo and Juliet.

“What’s in a name? that which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet;”

Names…
Titles…..
Memberships…

Whats in a name?
That by any other name…. I will still be…. Teresa…. a CHRISTian!

Leave a Reply

