Pot….Or No Pot….

Decision-Making[1]Changes are always happening…. Every day there is change… some good…. some bad… and some… well…. just seemingly unimportant enough to bother with..
Change in the weather…( here in Missouri… it can change 4 or 5 times in a single day )….
Change in our hair styles and even hair color…
Change in Job careers …
Change houses…
Change Marital status….
Change our minds…. (again… as a woman In Missouri…. 4-5 plus times a day)

Change is inevitable… It happens all the time, and every change will not affect each person involved the same way.   Case in point….In a divorce…. often,  one is excited about the change while the other one is having a horrible time excepting the change…Children are affected…. other family members are affected…. friends…. enemies… some affected in a positive… some in a negative… and some are just neutrally affected at all.

One Change that is very new and also very controversial right now is the new change in a law over legalizing Marijuana.
It is very interesting to read comments in a news-feed on Facebook or any numerous avenues when the subject is brought up.   Some…. are VERY direct and adamant about their views on the new law.   Some of course are for the change… some are against the change…. and of course there are those who do not think it will affect them one way or the other.

So…. Of course….I have my own view of this law change that is and has happened in a few states already…. and I sure do not want to start any small wars over a blog….but … since this is my blog… I do want to at least give my version of why I feel the way I feel about this particular subject!   Of course, if you have read any of my previous blogs…. you know that the way I explain a subject is by word pictures.   It seems to make more sense to me… and hopefully to the reader… so … this one will be no different.   You may need to bare with me though for a few minutes to get the point.

I am a carb-aholic.   I have always loved Sweets….. Chocolate…. Ice Cream…. and Potatoes….. Mashed Potatoes….. and Noodles…. and Noodles ON my Mashed Potatoes!!!    Yes… you can say I have it bad!!!
When I was a teenager… I could put all of that away in a single day…and NEVER gained a single ounce.   My Breakfast for several years after I graduated High School consisted of 2 Ding Dongs and a full fledged Dr. Pepper!  I survived on junk food for most of my life… with an occasional green vegetable thrown in for good measure just once in awhile.   Yep…. you could say I was on a constant sugar high for most of my early life!
People would tell me things like….”I used to be that thin once”…. “I used to be able to eat anything and everything too when I was your age”…. “That all will catch up with you one day”…. “You better enjoy it now while you can”…
I would just roll my eyes at them and chuckle inside with thoughts of…. ‘those people are crazy… I will never have to worry about weight’…..!
I would also make excuses for my addiction… reminding those around me that God made milk… He made the sugar cane… He made the Potato for us to enjoy.   Why on earth would He put anything here to harm us!

….and then…. I turned 30!!!!

Not sure exactly what happened except… Life!   But now instead of Potatoes being my friend… Ice Cream being my comfort…. they all have turned on me and have become my enemies!   Every bite seems to show up …. SOMEWHERE on my body!!!   Believe me… it is not anywhere near flattering either!   Time…. caught up with me.  That grace period… ran out.   Age…(no…lets not factor that one in).   The compound affect…. over time… layer upon layer…. has manifested in my body and it takes work… and determination to reverse the damage.

It is absolutely not fair however… to watch others eat what I used to eat and stay just as slim as ever!
Other people have no desire or draw towards sweets…. they can “take it or leave it”.  ( I truly think those people have a mental defect that should be addressed).
… and still ….. like me… there are those…. who once you open that door to a cup cake…. or bite size candy bar…. have now unleashed the monster within and will not see the end of the feeding frenzy till the next morning when we begin to pick up the piles of wrappers left on the end table.  (or so I have been told … ).

The point is…. there are things the enemy tempts each of us with…. he will continue to do so until you take the bait and indulge…..no matter what that is for you!  Everyone is different.  But each of us DO have a weak spot.
The bible says …

1 Corinthians 6:12 Everything is permissible (allowable and lawful) for me; but not all things are helpful (good for me to do, expedient and profitable when considered with other things). Everything is lawful for me, but I will not become the slave of anything or be brought under its power.
….and
John 10:
10 The thief comes only in order to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overflows).
You … may be able to handle your alcohol…. your Marijuana…. your chocolate….
but the ones who are watching you…. looking up to you…. may not….!
It may be the very thing that is the thing that will trap them and destroy them…. maybe not today…. maybe not tomorrow…. but it WILL catch up with them eventually!    It will make them a slave to it!   It will steal their joy… destroy dreams…. kill them mentally.. spiritually…. and someday…. physically!Making things legal … in my opinion… could be alright I’m sure in certain circumstances…. but… with legalization comes, the mindset of…. It is OK for me to do this…. no matter my weakness!
With freedom….. comes responsibility….!1 Corinthians 8:9 Only be careful that this power of choice (this permission and liberty to do as you please) which is yours, does not [somehow] become a hindrance (cause of stumbling) to the weak or overscrupulous [giving them an impulse to sin].  10 For suppose someone sees you, a man having knowledge [of God, with an intelligent view of this subject and] reclining at table in an idol’s temple, might he not be encouraged and emboldened [to violate his own conscientious scruples] if he is weak and uncertain, and eat what [to him] is for the purpose of idol worship?   11 And so by your enlightenment (your knowledge of spiritual things), this weak man is ruined (is lost and perishes)–the brother for whom Christ (the Messiah) died!   12 And when you sin against your brethren in this way, wounding and damaging their weak conscience, you sin against Christ.  13 Therefore, if [my eating a] food is a cause of my brother’s falling or of hindering [his spiritual advancement], I will not eat [such] flesh forever, lest I cause my brother to be tripped up and fall and to be offended.

 

Leave a comment